The 8 Best Photo-Editing Apps Ever {in my opinion}

What is the secret to taking a really good Instagram photo? Editing. This is a truth that most of us know about, but rarely share with each other. Until now. I am spilling the beans on my favorite editing apps, even the ones no one talks about.

I currently use an iPhone 4s. I plan to upgrade in the near future, but for now it does the trick. Why? because I edit the sh*t out of my photos, and I have no shame in it. Here is the thing, everyone edits differently. We all have our own style, so why not share the wealth of the innovative photo-editing apps that are out there.

No matter what, your photo (if you take it and edit it yourself), will be original because it came from you. Here are my very favorite photo-editing apps, and why. Happy editing!

 afterlight Afterlight

This is a great app if you like to manually adjust every aspect of your photos–i.e., if you are a control-freak, like me. Afterlight lets you fine tune the lighting, temperature and much more. Favorite feature: photos can be framed with different shaped borders. Because of this, photos don’t get cut off by the Instagram square.

Photo edited with Afterlight, using the frame feature to fit the while photo in the square.

Photo edited with Afterlight, using the frame feature to fit the whole photo in the square.

Circle frame in white, low capacity.

Circle frame in white, low capacity.

afterlight3

vsco VSCOcam

This is a pretty popular editing app, and at first I resisted it because of it’s preset filtering. However, I really love the mood of some of these preset filters. There are three different b&w choices, as well as several color choices. They have a really artsy feel to them. VSCO is an amazing one-stop-shop. Favorite feature: you can choose from the presets or manually adjust your own photo. Also, you can increase and decrease the intensity of the presets.

VSCOcam preset filter.

VSCOcam preset filter.

VSCO acai-stylee (combined with afterlight for white frame)

VSCO acai-stylee (combined with Afterlight for white frame)

VSCO + Afterlight = l o v e

VSCO + Afterlight = l o v e

rhonna Rhonna Designs

I love this app. It is filled with beautiful fonts, inspirational quotes and amazing graphics. This is my go-to, when I am feeling extra creative. I highly recommend Rhonna Designs for businesses, bloggers and creative folk. It is the only app I use when I want to include graphics or words. Favorite feature: this app is all about uplifting and inspiring, and I really dig that.

I used Rhonna designs to layer graphics and quotes.

I used Rhonna designs to layer graphics and quotes.

St. Paddy's Day Rhonna-style

St. Paddy’s Day Rhonna-style

diptic Diptic

I don’t make photo collages often, but when I do, I use Diptic. I know there are several collage apps out there, but I like this one. It is free and easy to use. Favorite feature: you can adjust the thickness/thinness of the borders.

4th of July collage with no borders.

4th of July collage with no borders.

Because one Disney picture is never enough.

Because one Disney picture is never enough.

flipagram Flipagram

Ever wondered how people make those really cute (sometimes too fast) slideshows? Here is your answer. Flipagram allows you to manually select photos from different social media venues, and create a customized slide show, complete with a soundtrack. You can choose pretty much any song, and make a super cute memory reel. Favorite feature: Flipagram will automatically make your slideshow 15 seconds for Instagram, if you want.

Click here to view the Flipagram slideshow I made for Ayden’s 3rd Birthday, for Instagram.

waterlogue Waterlogue

This app allows you to turn photos in to watercolor, sketched or drawn pictures. It is purely for artistic fun. I like to play with Waterlogue when I am feeling creative (or bored). Favorite feature: Sooo many different options to choose from and play with.

Roses from my hubby, turned in to a watercolor photo.

Roses from my hubby, turned in to a watercolor photo.

videoshoplogo Videoshop

Oh the fun you can have with this app! Videoshop allows you to edit your videos in all sorts of fun ways. You can combine several different videos, or play with just one. You can create voice-overs and soundtrack your videos as well. Favorite feature: The time lapse and slow-motion feature.

facetune Facetune

Alright people, I am blowing the cover on this handy-dandy little app. Women will either love me for posting this, or hate me. Either way, I am posting it. Ever take a great photo only to realize someone in the photo (you), has a great big zit? Wish you could edit it out? You can. I know, I know this is cheating..blah blah blah. But let’s be real, with digital photography and Photoshop, this happens all the time. Do I think you should completely alter your appearance in a photo? No. Do I think this should be used in every photo? No. Do I think this is a great 911 app? Sure do! Favorite feature: the anti-wrinkle/smoothing feature! Better than botox!

If I am going to call out the app, then I better call out myself! Used the smoothing feature to get rid of forehead lines. #noshame

If I am going to call out the app, then I better call out myself! Used the smoothing feature to get rid of forehead lines. #noshame

All of the opinions expressed in this post are mine. No one is paying me to rate or promote any of these apps. If you liked what you read and want to join the convo, please comment below! As always, thanks for your time friends!!

xo, Emily

Leave a Reply

