I’m Going to ‘The Ellen Show’ : Part One

You guys… It’s happening–it’s really happening. I finally got tickets to The Ellen Show!

ellen.jpg

I love Ellen–we all love Ellen, right? I mean we are practically best friends, she just doesn’t know it yet. Ok wait, that sounds a bit stalker-y. But seriously, I have spent countless 4pm weekdays with this woman, right in my own living room! Together we have laughed, we have cried and we have danced! I have tried for years to get tickets to be in her studio audience, and it’s finally happening… Tomorrow!

There is a bit of a back-story to all of this. After I had Ayden, I struggled with a bit of PPD (postpartum depression). It was relatively mild, and mostly gave me horrible anxiety, but it was still extremely difficult. Luckily, I have a supportive husband, and wonderful friends and family. Because of this, I was able to call my doctor fairly early on, and address the issue. Thank goodness.

Anyway, when Ayden was born, Mike was working full-time and in school full-time. I was alone a lot, and the days were long. Some days he would leave the house at 6:30am, and get home at 10:30pm. It wasn’t easy, but we made it work. By the afternoon, I was pretty exhausted, especially since my daughter was not a great sleeper until around 7 months. 4pm would roll around, and I would tune in to The Ellen Show. It provided me with a sense of relief, and a feeling of success that I made it through another day. Also, it made me laugh when things were rough. So needless to say, I have a really positive association with Ellen.

Cut to a couple of months ago. I was in the middle of ‘The Artist’s Way’ 12 week course, and that specific week was focusing on manifesting and being aware of synchronicity in the universe. I had tried to get Ellen tickets dozens of times before, but figured I would try one more time. Two weeks later Courtney from The Ellen Show called me back, to let me know I got tickets. Trip out, right? I sure did. You would have thought I won the lottery. She probably thought I was insane. I didn’t care; I was beyond excited, and pretty blown away by how it had all played out.

So tomorrow I will head up to Warner Brother Studios in Burbank, to experience The Ellen Show first-hand. And don’t think for a second I won’t be taking lots of notes to share with you. I will do everything in my power to get a chance to dance with Ellen, and hopefully even get a selfie with her. Wish me luck!

xo, Emily

***If you or someone you know is struggling with PPD, please know that you do not have to suffer. There are many resources for dealing with PPD, and a great starting point is letting your doctor know what is going on.

2 thoughts on “I’m Going to ‘The Ellen Show’ : Part One

Leave a Reply

