DIY Challenge – Day 2: Painted Feathers

Hi guys! Today’s DIY craft was originally going to be ‘dipped’ feathers. But like most projects, it evolved in to something else. I am most likely going to create some sort of a garland with these cutie-feathers, and for that, I may post a tutorial (through my own trial and error). Also, these are smaller feathers (leftover from Ayden’s Birthday party). Next time I would probably use bigger feathers. (At the bottom of this post, I have included photos of how I re-purposed the feathers from Ayden’s party.)

Before I post my photos, I just want to say something about this DIY challenge. So today I wasn’t really feeling like crafting. I had a headache and I was feeling tired. Everything in me was saying ‘Ayden is napping! Go lay down!!’ But then I thought about some of the other people participating in this challenge, especially this bad-ass mama, brewed some coffee and got down to business. Being accountable to you, saved the day! The other thing I want to say about this challenge, is that forcing myself to create everyday, is sparking even more creativity. I am suddenly overflowing with ideas, and projects and I feel really inspired. Anyway, I wanted to share that. I will leave you with this rad Maya Angelou quote, “You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have”.

Painted Feather DIY

diy6.jpgI couldn't part with these sparkly, glittery feathers, so I put them in an old honey jar (which was a favor from a friend's wedding), and put them on my desk so I could enjoy them every day.

I couldn’t part with these sparkly, glittery feathers, so I put them in an old honey jar (which was a favor from a friend’s wedding), and put them on my desk so I could enjoy them every day.

Thanks for reading!

xo, Emily

2 thoughts on “DIY Challenge – Day 2: Painted Feathers

    • Thanks soo much!! It was super fun to make them. I think it would be fun to use the really big, white goose feathers, for better precision. Or I probably just need to invest in better paint brushes. 🙂 Thanks so much for reading!
      xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

