Day 7: Holiday Wall Art {Fail and Fixes}

DAY 7_(1)

Greetings, Blogosphere!

Today is DIY Day 7, which officially puts us over the halfway mark of this 12 day challenge. If I am being 100% honest, (which I am), then you should know I hesitated to post this craft. It did not turn out how I envisioned it, and after the fact I realized a better way to do the project. You know what they say about hindsight..

When I started this blog, I did so under the guise of being relate-able to the ‘everyday mom’. Everyday moms sometimes have fails. I wouldn’t call this project a total fail, but let’s be honest, it’s not my favorite. (That is what Ayden says when she doesn’t like something).

I am going to post my how-to for this project, and at the bottom I will post the fixes to my perceived glitches. Thanks for hanging in this thing with me, and loving me despite my imperfect DIYs. (:

(Sparkly) Holiday Wall Art DIY

Supplies:

  • Canvas
  • Ruler
  • Pencil
  • Masking Tape
  • Glitter scrapbook paper
  • Glue
  • Black Paint
  • Gold or Silver Paint

Step 1:

Measure equal stripes on to your canvas using your ruler and pencil.

6 and 7 001 6 and 7 002

Step 2:

Mask off your stripes, (masking inside the white stripe, so you can paint the black stripe.) And paint.

6 and 7 003 6 and 7 004

Step 3:

While paint is drying draw & cut out your desired shape on the back of the craft paper, (I chose a snowflake because it is pretty neutral. I had to really fight the urge to make another ‘taxidermy’ head.)

6 and 7 005 6 and 7 007

Step 4:

Remove masking tape once paint has dried, apply glue to cut out, and adhere it to canvas. (Note: the picture does not have to be dead-center, try placing it off-center for a more original look.)

***This is where my problems began. I am pretty sure the paint wasn’t fully dry when I removed the tape. Either that, or the paint just bled. I did not get the clean, straight stripe I was hoping for.)

6 and 7 006 6 and 7 014 6 and 7 013 6 and 7 009

Step 5:

Add ‘snow’ with gold or silver paint and allow to dry.

This is my finished project. It isn't quite as I imagined or planned it. See below for suggested 'fixes' to this DIY.

This is my finished project. It isn’t quite as I imagined or planned it. See below for suggested ‘fixes’ to this DIY.

Fixes:

  • Paint upward of the masking tape seam.
  • Allow paint to fully dry over several hours.
  • Instead of scrap book paper, use Elmer’s glue directly on the canvas to draw your desired shape, then cover with loose glitter and allow it to dry. (I believe this will give a cleaner look to the project).
  • Add a splash of color, (like mustard or red, or both) to add a little contrast.
  • Don’t be too hard on yourself!

xo, Em

Leave a Reply

