Day 8: Raw Wreath Dream Catcher

raw wreath dream catcher diy

This craft came to be as an inspiration from an Instagram post by JL Desgins. I actually found the post through Wolf Camp Studios, of Costa Mesa, Ca, when they were having their Handcrafted Holiday Pop-up shop. I saw the wreath below going for $65. I wanted that wreath, but I had 2 problems: a.) I couldn’t make it to Costa Mesa that weekend, and b.) I didn’t have an extra $65 to spend on Holiday deco, (we run our ship on a budget!)

JL Designs

I already had all the crafts I would need to recreate my version and vision of this, (minus the raw wreath). I made a little trippy-poo to Hobby Lobby, snagged one for around $5 and the rest is history.

I am in love with the finished project–like, really in love. Here is my step-by-step how-to in photos, (of course incorporating my crafting motto – ‘use what you have’.)

raw wreath dream catcher

Raw wreath

raw wreath dream catcher

Feather tags I had, purchased from the $1 spot at Target

2.jpg

Lace twine back and forth (creating a star-like pattern), on the back side of your wreath.

Lace twine back and forth (creating a star-like pattern), on the back side of your wreath.

  4.jpg

Beads I had in my craft supplies.

Beads I had in my craft supplies.

6.jpg

Tie feathers and twine to the bottom and back side of your wreath, adding beads as desired.

8 and 9 071

‘Borrow’ some greenery from a tree or garland, (real or fake).

1a.jpg

Decorate the outer part of your wreath by tucking it under the little branches.

1b.jpg 1d.jpg 1e.jpg

Hang wreath dream catcher

Hang wreath dream catcher

What I love about this DIY, is that you can hang it all year around (just remove the greenery after the holidays.) I would love your feedback on this one! Please comment below, if you so desire. xo, Em

Leave a Reply

